And so it begins...

And so it begins…

A little bit about me… Nancy Marie.

I’m 49 (50 in 6 months) How did that happen? Time keeps on slippin’… Anyway, I’m a single mom to two lovely and amazing kids. 1 girl  & 1 boy .They are all grown up, married and my daughter has kids of her own. She has given me two beautiful little grand daughters that just make my world complete.

My life has always been good! Not easy but good!

I was raised by loving, caring parents. I smile just thinking of them and the fun times we had…Fishing at Echo lake, days at the beach, barbeques with the whole family, That oh so familiar sound of horseshoes, Christmas, Easter, mulberrybushes…sigh I miss those days. I miss being young and carefree… I miss when my biggest decision was what to get from the ice cream truck…

My nana lived with us, Oh how I loved that women…I miss her…we were kindred spirits she and I…

I have 3 sisters and a brother, So as I said life has been good but not easy! lol

Now we can fast forward to today,

I’m going through stupid menopause! There I said it!

She’s been after me awhile now… Those random “Is it hot in here or is it me?” moments and those days when I raid my own fridge tell me so…

I had  a D&C (that didn’t work) last year and then the endometrial ablation this last november that I think is working… I haven’t had much of a period since then, so I can’t go by that… but all the other signs say “Yes, Girl, This is it!”

Oh The hot flashes and night sweats. Two weeks of waking up all night to a tingle feeling that now I know comes right before the HEAT!

And then there’s the moodiness and crying all the time… I don’t like it!  It’s not me

Well it’s not the me I remember… And I’ll be damned If I let it claim me as its own.

I am going to fight it… fight back every step of the way… Kicking and screaming

I know I’m only about 2 weeks into this long journey, but I guess I’m about as ready as I’ll ever be.

So I will arm myself with all the knowledge I can and call on my family to gather the wagons around me…

This is going to be one hell of a ride…

But for now I’m off to CVS to get Estroven “Cool sleep”

Stupid Menopause!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Hello Nancy, I am 51 and its around 7 months since my last period and 3 years when I first experienced the symptoms of perimenopause. Its been what I can only describe as a powerful experience so far. I don’t feel like the woman I was two years ago and the change has made me want to redefine myself on my terms. I am determined to make this phase of my life the best. Best of luck on your journey

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Deborah! Thank you so much!
      I love that you said “redefine myself on my terms” thats excactly how I feel! This is my year, I turn 50 and I’m not going to let Stupid menopause take that from me!
      Good luck on your journey too, you’ve got this girl! It won’t be long till you are peaking your head out to see the clouds have cleared!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

